Day and Boarding; Grades 6-12


Ten seniors inducted to Cum Laude Society
Ten seniors inducted to Cum Laude Society

Ten Pennington School seniors were inducted on October 15 as student members of the School's chapter of the Cum Laude Society before an audience of the entire Upper School, faculty, and parents at the Pennington United Methodist Church. Students inducted are within the top 10 percent of the class, as determined by grade point average, and the School views selection for membership as one of the highest honors it can confer.

The new members of Cum Laude are Erin Heyeck, Maria Khartchenko, Jenna Kollevoll, Mingjia Liu, Meng Lu, Yaoxin Mo, Deep Patel, Julia Peters, Jenna Soliman, and Yiren Zhou.

The Cum Laude Society is an international organization recognizing "academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence, justice, and honor." There are approximately 380 institutions in the Society; most are independent schools.

After a welcome from Headmaster William Hawkey, faculty member Donald Dolan provided information about Cum Laude's history and motto, and Dean of Academic Affairs Scott Peeler introduced the Cum Laude faculty members. Dr. Stephanie Heyeck, chair of the Science Department, was the program speaker. Faculty member Lisa Houston then formally inducted the students.