Day and Boarding; Grades 6-12


Twelve students inducted into Cum Laude Society
Twelve students inducted into Cum Laude Society

Twelve Pennington School seniors were inducted as student members of the School's chapter of the Cum Laude Society on October 13. Students inducted are within the top ten percent of the class, as determined by grade point average, and the School views selection for membership as one of the highest honors it can confer. 

The new members of Cum Laude are William Bernal, Sophia Cano, Xingrui Chen, Matthew Cooper, Kailey Dierk, Alexander Huang-Menders, Shivant Krishnan, Minghao Li, Rohit Pothacamury, Trinity Pryor, Olivia Schroeder-Positano, and Haichuan Wang. 

The Cum Laude Society is an international organization dedicated to recognizing academic achievement in secondary schools. There are 382 institutions in the Society; most are independent schools.

After an invocation from the Reverend David Hallgren, Head of School William Hawkey gave a welcome speech. Teacher of Music Donald Dolan provided information about Cum Laude's history and motto, and Dean of Academic Affairs Scott Peeler introduced the faculty members in Pennington's Cum Laude chapter. Nathan Van Yperen, chair of the Religion Department, was the program speaker. Cum Laude Chapter President Lisa L. Houston then formally inducted the students.