Grades 6-12; Boarding 8-12


2022-23 Underclass Award Ceremony held on campus

The annual Underclass Awards Ceremony was held Thursday, May 25, in Sparks Gymnasium. Congratulations to all awardees on their outstanding achievements this year! The full list of award recipients is below:

The Edgar B. Roesch Award to the Ninth-Grader Excelling in English — Nishka Vyas and Brett Sirolly 

The John J. Burns Memorial Award to the Sophomore Excelling in English — Xinran (Grace) Li and Olivia Cano

Junior Excelling in English — Hengchao (Chris) Xia and Nkechinyelum (Keke) Nwoye

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Spanish — Saniya Bhanote

Sophomore Excelling in Spanish — Mari Grandbouche

Junior Excelling in Spanish — Sanjana (Sunny) Padmanabhan

The Dr. E. F. Hann Memorial Award to the Ninth-Grader Excelling in French — Katherine Dwyer

Sophomore Excelling in French — Nina Feder

Junior Excelling in French — Shinyi Li and Lucas Sweetman

Ninth-Grader Excelling in German — Zara Meehan-Ritter

Sophomore Excelling in German — Siyi Yang

Junior Excelling in German — Maya Meehan-Ritter

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Latin — Yanxin (Minnie) Wu

Sophomore Excelling in Latin — Benjamin Pearlberg

Junior Excelling in Latin — Samantha Lambdin and Emily Howe 

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Mathematics — Yanxin (Minnie) Wu and Nishka Vyas

The Howard Cressman Memorial Award to the Junior Excelling in Mathematics — Shinyi Li and Polaris Hayes

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Science — Zara Meehan-Ritter

Sophomore Excelling in Science — Moyang (Eliza) Zou

The George Parnos Award to the Junior Excelling in Science  — Shinyi Li

The Scientific Inquiry Award — Sebastian Drezek

Ninth-Grader Excelling in History — Chenyu (Jason) Chou

Sophomore Excelling in History — Nina Feder

The Dr. Ralph Appleton Memorial Award to the Junior Excelling in History — Hengchao (Chris) Xia 

Underclass Student Excelling in Religion — Gabrielle Hall

Underclass Student Excelling in Health and Wellness — Lia Brunetti-Carroll and Ryaan Shah

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Music — Nishka Vyas

Sophomore Excelling in Music — Lucas Medina

Junior Excelling in Music — Chenxu (Larry) Xu

Underclass Student Excelling in Video Production — Kerri Moran and Evan Glassner

Ninth-Grader Excelling in Theatre — Allison Howe

Sophomore Excelling in Theatre — Alexander Marinzoli

Junior Excelling in Theatre — Teagan Walsh

The Pennington School Award to an Underclass Student Excelling in Art — Maryam Darwish and Shreya Mookherjee

Underclass Student Excelling in Photography — Mei Mei Castranova

Junior Excelling in Computer Science — Edward (Teddy) Molner

The Music Merit Award, for individual excellence, creativity, and extraordinary ability in music and significant contribution to Pennington’s music program — Micah Bowser, Helmut Chen, and Mia Seyfarth

The Betty Lan Eng Award, established as a term scholarship in 2021 by Tammy and Ricky Eng P’20 to recognize and encourage a rising senior who demonstrates talent in graphic design or the fine arts. Scholarship recipients will show artistic talent and potential for pursuing art/graphic design as a professional career. In choosing Eng Scholars, Art Department faculty members propose three rising seniors who meet the selection criteria. The Head of School selects the scholarship recipient from those three finalists. — Yingying (Ulrica) Peng

Rensselaer Medal Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement, for a student who displays outstanding achievement in mathematics and science — Samantha Lambdin

The Pennington School Award for Bridging Cultures, presented to students who have developed friendships and helped to foster the attitudes of respect, tolerance, and social justice in our multicultural community. — Sanjana (Sunny) Padmanabhan and Micah Bowser

The Pennington School Award to the Student Who Exemplifies Development of Individual Excellence — Conlan Folino

The Pennington School Award to the Student Outstanding in Volunteer Service, for offering an extraordinary level of service to help others both in and outside of the School community — Lia Taranto

The Ryan M. Fesko Award, for a junior who demonstrates a positive outlook, the ability to promote friendship and teamwork, and a commitment to physical fitness — Paloma Szyfer

The Robert Young ’70 Memorial Award for Scholar-Athlete, for a junior who integrates the hard work, personal interaction, and spirit of the athlete into every aspect of life at Pennington — John (JT) Shamsey

The Terry William Weiler '66 Memorial Scholarship, for a junior of solid character, strong academic record, and outstanding involvement in the School’s extracurricular activities — Dowon (Zio) Kim

Yale University Book Award, endowed for a Pennington student by Dr. Guy Fried, an alumnus of Yale University Medical School, a member of the Yale Club of Philadelphia, and a Pennington parent — Gavin Leeds

The Gateway Prize, to the students who best exemplify Pennington’s core values of humility, virtue, and honor — Maya Brooke, Olivia Davis, Owen Doughty, and Tyler Hope

View our Flickr album to download the photos.

Underclass Awards 2022-23